The Art and Craft of Editing: A Creative Writing Masterclass with Cathy Rentzenbrink | Guardian Master Classes

The writing journey can be a lonely experience full of ups, downs, and wrong turns. Getting to the end of a first draft should make you feel like you’ve reached your destination, but paradoxically it also forces you back to where you started. This can have a psychological impact on any writer – it’s no wonder so many fledgling works never see the light of day.

In this masterclass, bestselling author Cathy Rentzenbrink will show you how the editing process can be just as joyful as the initial writing itself – it’s your chance to shape your story and shape the words on the page. Drawing on her years of experience as a writer and mentor, through examples of her own writing, Cathy will walk you through the process, from first draft to final published work, helping you understand the decisions you make. she took along the way and why.

No matter what stage of the writing journey you’re in, this masterclass will illuminate the path ahead, so you can approach your editing with more confidence. By the end of this workshop, you will be able to identify the difference between a structural edit and a line edit, how and when to work on these two different edits, and how to apply these learnings to your own work.

This course is for…

Course content

  • The different types of edition

  • How to look at your content and shape your book

  • What to do and when

  • When and if to involve an editor

  • When not to edit

  • Techniques for Developing a Writer’s Mindset

  • Questions and answers

Tutor profile

Cathy Rentzenbrink is the author of Sunday time Bestseller The last act of love and of A handbook for heartache and Dear Reader: The comfort and joy of books. In 2021, she publishes her first novel, Everyone is still aliveand will publish in January 2022 a memoir writing guide, entitled Write it all down: how to put your life on the page. Cathy regularly hosts literary events, interviews authors, reviews books, leads creative writing classes where she welcomes anyone, regardless of their experience, training, background or history. She believes everyone’s life would be improved by picking up a pen and is happiest when she encourages her students to have the courage to look inside themselves and see the magic that will begin to happen on the page.

Details

Dated: Monday, May 16, 2022
Time: 6:30-8:30pm BST
Price: £49 (plus £2.83 booking fee); £60.99 with a copy of Cathy’s New Writing Guide Write it all down: how to put your life on the page (UK only, plus £3.38 booking fee)

This masterclass is available worldwide. If you are joining us from outside the UK, please use this time zone converter to check your local live stream time.

6.30pm BST | 7:30 p.m. CEST | 10:30 a.m. PDT | 1:30 p.m. EDT

You will receive a link to the webinar 24 hours and 2 hours before the start time of 6:30 p.m. (BST)

Guardian Master Class Information

To contact us, click here. Terms and conditions can be found here.

Sign up for our newsletter and you’ll be among the first to find out about our latest courses and special offers. You can also follow us on Twitterand read our latest articles and interviews on our blog.

By registering for this masterclass, you are helping to support the Guardian, and it allows us to keep our quality reporting open to all.

All Guardian Masterclasses are fully accessible – but please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Return policy

Once the purchase has been made, we cannot refund you if you do not attend or if you cancel your event booking. Please see our terms and conditions for more information on our refund policy.