Poetry | Low Residency MFA in Creative Writing

Our poetry faculty is made up of nationally and internationally renowned writers from many different backgrounds, working in a wide variety of styles and subject matter. You’ll work with writers like Brian Turner, Faylita Hicks, John Murillo, Lee Herrick and many more.

Our faculty has received the Edita and Ira Morris Hiroshima Foundation Award, Lamont Poetry Selection, National Book Award nominations, shortlist for TS Eliot Prize (UK) and TS Eliot Prize Winner (United States States), National Endowment for the Arts Fellowships, PEN Best in the West Award, USA Fellowship, Amy Lowell Traveling Fellowship, Academy of American Poets Fellowship, Lannan Foundation Fellowships, the Poet’s Prize, USA Fellowships, Guggenheim Grants, NEA Fellowships, Witter Bynner Foundation Poetry Fellowship, and the Alejo Zuloaga Order in Literature. Their work has been published in Poetry, APR, The Paris reviewthe Guardianthe Best American Poetry Series, vanity loungethe poetry foundation, Prairie Schooner, Plow shares, Virginia Quarterly Review, Georgia Review, Poetry Irelandand for Words Without Bordersamong many others.

We provide a nurturing and mentoring environment for its students, where issues of social and environmental justice can be explored alongside poems that explore the inner world of the artist. We give students the tools — and the inspiration — to succeed in their life as a writer long after they graduate. As we see, the poems we write today have something to teach us about the poems we will write tomorrow.

Guest authors include Patricia Smith, Carolyn Forché, Monica Sok, Kim Addonizio, Kaveh Akbar, Juan Felipe Herrera, Jane Hirshfield, Lynne Thompson, Camille Dungy, Tanya Shirley, John F. Deane, Sinéad Morrissey, Matthew Sweeney and Damir Šodan.