Graduate Students and Graduates in Creative Writing and Translation Receive Individual Artist Fellowships

Photo submitted

Joy Clark, left, and Lily Buday

The Arkansas Arts Council has announced the recipients of its 2022 Individual Artist Fellowship awards, and a current graduate student and alumnus of the English Department’s MFA in Creative Writing and Translation program are among those honored. Current MFA fiction student Lily Buday and former fiction student Joy Clark (’20) won two of three statewide awards in the Literary Arts category: Flash Fiction or Flash Creative Nonfiction.

Buday, from Fayetteville, is a writer of fiction and assorted non-fiction, with work appearing in Chautauqua, Gasher and joyland. She is currently pursuing an MFA in fiction writing at the University of Alberta, where she was the recipient of a Harrison/Whitehead Founders’ Fellowship and a James E. & Ellen Wadley Roper Fellowship in literary creation.

Clark, from Fayetteville, earned her Masters of Fine Arts in creative writing from the U of A, where she currently works for local nonprofits Art Ventures and The Writers Colony in Dairy Hollow. His work can be read in Bayou Magazine, Pleiades, Juked and The Kenyon Review Online, among other places. She is working on a novel.

The Arkansas Arts Council Individual Artist Fellowships are unconditional, unrequited awards given directly to individual artists in Arkansas. Each year, a panel of independent judges select Arkansas artists in several categories to receive the $5,000 scholarships. The award aims to provide artists with funding that will give them more time to create new work and develop their art.